Waive the Weight Away

This morning when I got to the gym, there were 2 people already there. I was shocked because I’m usually the first person to come in. Needless to say, they were newcomers and had to arrive 15 minutes early to do the paperwork and all that good stuff. Well, when it was time for the guy to receive his heart monitor, he was asked how much he weighed. I sat there for a second, then after he left, I asked if the weight made a difference. I was met with an enthusiastic, “Yes, it does!”. She proceeded to check the weight I had listed in my profile then weighed me and noted the difference. We never thought to recheck my weight though it was obvious I’d lost weight since I started several months ago. So, after she input my correct weight she said, “Now that you’ve decreased the weight, you should see the change in the connection”. *insert shout * Sure enough, almost immediately, I witnessed the difference.

I sat in my car for a little bit and pondered that. My connection was poor because I was essentially representing the weight that I no longer physically carried. *insert another shout * And when I began to reflect on the last few weeks and even months, it hit me like a ton of bricks. I’ve been carrying the weight of dissipated friendships, strained relationships, and situations out of my control and it was hindering my connection with God.

I’m not trying to be preachy, but maybe my revelation hit home for someone else. Sometimes we’re disconnected because we’re carrying stuff that we no longer have to. The friendship is over! The relationship is over! The employment situation is over! The ministry assignment is over! The leadership position is over! It may sting a little or hurt a lot, but it’s over!

Needless to say, I absolutely crushed my 5AM workout, so I know it’ll be a #WowGodDay. This is just a reminder that not everything that weighs us down is ours to carry. Let go, let God, and have a WAIVE-THE-WEIGHT-AWAY WEDNESDAY!!!

Published by Raushanah N. Butler

Motivational Speaker Transformational Writer Social Media Consultant

Leave a comment