Skip to content

The Prodigal Father

June 20, 2016

So about 10 years ago I received a phone call that changed my life. The voice on the other end sounded familiar, but like a stranger at the same time…it was my Daddy. I didn’t grow up with my Daddy and he hadn’t seen me since I was 10 months old. Initially I was bitter, frustrated, angry and depressed because I heard “stories” and all them were negative (there is truly 3 sides to EVERY story). It wasn’t too long after Joi’s dad passed that I went on my first 21-day fast, and in the midst started looking for my Daddy and posted messages everywhere. Someone anonymously responded to a message I put on a reunion site with his mailing address, so I sent a short letter. On day 19 the instructions of my fast were to “repent for my bloodline”, and that was the day I received the phone call!!! We’ve had our ups and downs, but because I fully and faithfully gave it to God, it’s like we didn’t skip a beat. We were able to lay eyes on one another almost exactly 29 years to the date the last time he saw me. He called himself The Prodigal Father, and I welcomed him as if he never left home. We both received our MBAs 2 years apart from each other and didn’t know it. We both are in ministry and at the time we didn’t know it. And we both love the Dallas Cowboys and didn’t know it.

So ladies, stop keeping your children from their fathers because he didn’t choose you. And men, stop allowing women to manipulate you into appeasing them to be a part of your child(ren)’s lives. In the end, the seed you procreated is affected the most and watering it with hate and bitterness grows a broken child. Simply put, it’s not about you! That’s not a popular opinion, but unless the other parent is harming them, assist in cultivating the relationship. Children need both of their parents, and you don’t have to be together to raise a whole and healthy child.

I’m so glad that my Father in Heaven healed my broken and bitter heart so that I can walk in forgiveness and love in a beautiful relationship with my Daddy!!! (I’m TRULY a Daddy’s Girl)

Daddy-la-la…I love you to life and Happy Father’s Day! ❤❤❤

image

From → Motivational

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

