Skip to content

My Story

October 17, 2014

***DISCLAIMER*** This is MY story…

Embarrassment, shame, abandonment and lack of support is why I stayed. I was broken, numb, felt worthless and hopeless. Looking back, I liken my response to my situation to that of a functional alcoholic (I’m not being insensitive). Being an educator and a minister, I felt like I had to keep up the facade just to keep people out of my business and to have some type of normalcy. At the end of the day, I was still judged for leaving; and either way, nobody knew about the private Hell I was living in. Being yelled at all the time, cheated on, and then that LAST time he hit me…I snapped. There was no yelling, cursing or screaming on my part. I didn’t raise my hand, nor did I shed a tear. I was calm, cool and collected; but, that’s what scared me. I knew then that I had the strength to leave. There would be no wedding (now I can say THANK GOD) and I had to start back over due to being unemployed and it was the same year my mother fell ill. I suffered financially and lost a lot, but that was better than being in the hospital, a body bag or jail.

Many stay because they don’t have genuine support (not you just wanting to know so that you can talk about it to everyone else) and don’t want to be judged. I’ve heard it before, and it was also my story. This wasn’t the first time I experienced this, but it sure as hell was my last. #NoMoreSilentTears #Redeemed #DomesticViolenceAwareness #WhyILe

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

