Skip to content

I Shed Tears For…(originally written 12/17/12)

December 28, 2012

Sandy_HookOver the past few days, I’ve experienced a range of emotions. Some due to personal experiences and others due to things or situations that affected me, but I didn’t know the people personally. I’ve been happy, sad, joyful, angry, relieved, grateful, humbled and anxious. That’s a lot for one person to feel huh? Honestly, I’m sure most of us have felt these range emotions over the past few days. We woke up possibly feeling like it was going to be a great day on Thursday, had a good day and maybe even a better night. We woke up the next day with the same frame of mind only to hear of the devastating news of the children and adults that were murdered at Sandy Hook Elementary School in Newtown, CT. I’m compelled to believe that it matters not what your race, creed, color, religion, socio-economic status, education level, gender, age or lifestyle; you were touched in some way, shape or form. Whether you were a parent or not, I’m sure your heart ached and the tears began to flow. Whether you were a teacher or not, I’m sure your mind began to wonder “why” on different levels. Whether you believe in God or not, I’m sure you cried out to a higher being trying to make sense of it all.

As for me, I was at my daughter’s school that day and ran to the front office after finishing up what I was doing so that they could call her out of class. All I could do is kiss on her, hug her tight and shed tears. I shed tears because of the love I have for her that seemed to have overwhelmed me at that moment. I shed tears realizing that I could feel her warmth, stroke her cheek and look into her big, beautiful eyes. Then I began to shed tears for 6-year-old Charlotte Bacon, 7-year old Daniel Barden, 6-year-old Olivia Engel, 7-year old Josephine Gay, 6-year-old Ana Marquez-Greene, 6-year-old Dylan Hockley, 6-year-old Madeleine F. Hsu, 6-year-old Catherine V. Hubbard, 7-year old Chase Kowalski, 6-year-old Jesse Lewis, 6-year-old James Mattioli, 7-year old Grace McDonnell, 6-year-old Emilie Parker, 6-year-old Jack Pinto, 6-year-old Noah Pozner, 6-year-old Caroline Previdi, 6-year-old Jessica Rekos, 6-year-old Avielle Richman, 6-year-old Benjamin Wheeler and 6-year-old Allison Wyatt.

I shed some more tears for 29-year-old Rachel Davino, 47-year-old Dawn Hocksprung, 52-year old Anne Marie Murphy, 29-year-old Lauren Russeau, 56-year-old Mary Sherlach and 27-year-old Victoria Soto. I even shed tears for 20-year-old Adam Lanza and his mother, 52-year-old Nancy Lanza. I shed tears for the parents whose children are deceased and for those whose children are still alive. I shed tears for those that were murdered and those that survived. I shed tears for every life that was taken at Columbine High School, Red Lake Senior High School, Virginia Tech, Northern Illinois University, Salt Lake City’s Trolley Mall, Westroads Mall in Omaha, IHOP in Carson City, Fort Hood, Safeway in Arizona, Oikos University, the movie theater in Aurora, the Sikh temple in Oak Creek, Clackamas Town Center in Oregon and the countless other mass shootings we’ve had across these United States of America. I shed tears for every boy, girl, husband, wife, mother, father, sister or brother that has been gunned down in our schools, churches, shopping malls and communities due to a senseless act of violence whether it was one person or twenty people, intentional, unintentional, mental illness or a breaking point.

My views are not definite as it related to the gun laws. Guns kill people, yes. Crazy people with guns kill people, yes. Stressed out people with guns kill people, yes. Extremists with guns kill people, yes. Ignorant people with guns kill people, yes. Immature people with guns kill people, yes. Inexperienced people with guns kill people, yes. Overall, I do agree that we need to tighten up our laws as a whole. As a nation, we are so concerned about attempting to appease everyone that more harm than help takes place. The other issue that this has raised is taking prayer out of schools. An atheist woman stated her claim, won her case and now we want to blame these massacres on the fact that we have “kicked God out of our schools”. I don’t agree with that premise, because every day I pray over my daughter and pray with her and send God to the school through her. If nothing else, it is time to pray more. If nothing else, it is time to unite more. If nothing else, it is time to love more. If nothing else, it is time to believe in the God that we claim we serve…MORE!!!

I didn’t want to write a blog laden with eloquent speech and big words; I simply just wanted to talk. Not sure who out there is reading or listening, but this is from my heart to yours.

And yes, I’m still shedding tears…

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

